Tags

, , , , , ,

Before I post about my adventures of a month on a sailboat, I wanted to share my finished Sunburst quilt ~ binding, label, and all.

The quilt inspiration is from the book, Quilts of Virginia, and was originally made around 1840 by Fanny Tod Noel Spindle (1816-1872).  Fanny and her husband raised seven children at Rose Cottage in Caroline County Virginia, a home that had been in the family since 1735.

My quilt contains 12 circular blocks and 12 half circular blocks sometimes called “Noonday” or Sunflowers.  They are Hand Pieced and set on point.  The Sunflowers are sashed with pinwheel blocks that extend into the border and were machine pieced.  There are 4,112 pieces in the quilt.

I started the quilt in early 2012.   I did not have a pattern for this quilt.  I used shapes and collections from Inklingo.  This is the only method I would ever use, especially for blocks that require hand piecing and curves.  Inklingo has enabled me to move to the next level in my quilting journey because of the precision it provides.   (No special tools required ~ only an ordinary inkjet printer ~ how fabulous is that!)

Fanny Tod’s Sunflowers

DSC08649 DSC08650 DSC08651 DSC08652 DSC08653

Now to dig out from under piles of dirty laundry for the rest of the day!

Have a wonderful day!

Signature

