Tags

, , , ,

While waiting for my daughter to return from a weekend trip to give me the hem length for the Easter dresses, I made a baby quilt for a neighbors baby that will be here in June.  She is having a boy and doing the nursery in aqua/teal and grey.  Since I normally do civil war reproduction quilts, contemporary style quilts are a little foreign to me and challenging.  I must say that the larger blocks make for quick quilts.  The design was a “Recipe” from Moda Bakeshop last week and called for Moda’s precut hexagons.  I didn’t want to use Moda’s precuts so I adapted the pattern to use Inklingo’s 3″ hexagons so I could use my own fabric choice.

It is very easy to adapt Inklingo to patterns from other designers since Inklingo shapes are given in finished sizes.  The above mentioned pattern called for precuts that were 3″ unfinished.  I printed out the Inklingo shapes and cut them on the stitching line instead of the cutting line which gave me the perfect size shape I needed.

Here is the baby quilt top.  Perfect size for a little floor nap.

DSC08510

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love the name.  Very close to my brother’s name which is  “Preston”.  Old family names are the best.  My younger daughter helped me decide on the banner color and monogram thread color.  I needed a young persons input.  I think it will be very cute once it is quilted.

Have a marvelous Monday.

 

Signature

