Tags

, , , , , , ,

While our family was visiting relatives in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania for a reunion, we stopped by the Bird N Hand Bakery.  As I mentioned in a previous post, the bakery is located on the family farm where my mother in law and her 10 siblings were raised.  One of our favorite desserts is Snitz Pie.  It is similar to apple pie but is made from dehydrated apple slices.

It only takes a few ingredients…..

After soaking the apples overnight, they “puff” to the size of fresh sliced apples.

Strain, Mix, and Bake

This shows that the apple mixture is slightly thickened.  The apples are easily cut with your stirring utensil but you can definitely see slices of apple.  I used a pre-made pie crust this time.

I am not a fancy baker, so my pie has a top crust instead of a beautiful lattice top.  I think that is just fine, especially since the pie we bought at Bird N Hand bakery had a full top crust.

Very delicious.

Here is the recipe:

Snitz Pie

2 cups dried apples

1/2 cup apple sauce

1/2 cup brown sugar packed

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Pinch of ground cloves, allspice and salt.  I love it when my grandmother would say pinch!  I would show her different size pinches and she would say, that size.  A pinch became about an 1/8 of tsp.

First soak your Snitz overnight to hydrate them. Strain the apple slices and place them in your cooking pot.  Add spices, applesauce and brown sugar cooking until all the ingredients are combined and slightly thickened.  In order to get a thickened sauce, I cook over high heat a couple of minutes and then turn the heat down.  Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes; Reduce heat to 375 degrees and bake an additional 30 minutes.  I had to cover my pie with foil so the edges would not get too brown.

Homemade Peanut Butter (My son in law demonstrated for me!)

Two jars of peanuts

1-2 Tbsp of oil

Blend in  blender until smooth.  He uses this super duper Blendtec blender.  I don’t know that a standard blender could do the job.

It made two large tubs of peanut butter.  It was very good (and good for you!)

This is the Christmas Tile Machine Embroidery project that I did during my downtime from stitching.

All I had to do was hoop my fabric and change thread colors at the appropriate time.  The program even stitched the gold “window panes”.  I then stitched the 9 tiles together and the designs matched up perfectly.  The design is by Anita Goodesign and  is called Santa’s Visit.  It is currently at the framers and I will post a picture of it when I get it back in a couple of weeks.  This could also have been made into a wall hanging rather than framed.

Here is a close up of one of the blocks.  I really love that it made a white on white background design on the fabric.

Well back to the pinwheels!

Charlsey

