Tags

, , , , , ,

It is sweltering hot in Texas.  We have started our plus 100 degree days already.  This weekend we will cool off to 97-99 degrees.  I try and do my outside work and errands very early in the morning and retreat inside to the air conditioning before noon.  It is an added chore to try and keep the outdoor plants healthy and watered.

I have started working on the half blocks of the 1800’s Virginia Sunflower Quilt.  The blocks stitch together  pretty quickly compared to doing the full rounds.  I have stitched three so far and need to do a total of 12.  It is my travel project for now.  I am hoping to complete the top by the end of the summer.  I still have a gazillion 2″ pinwheels to make for the sashing.  I am doing those on the machine so hopefully it won’t take as long.  I did print the QST with Inklingo so my stitching lines and cutting lines are on the background fabric.  This will definitely save a lot of time as I won’t have the task of measuring and trimming.  With Inklingo, you just have perfectly stitched pieces.

Here is a picture of the half blocks

Over the next few days I will be making blueberry jam, freezing blueberries and making Tomato Chili Sauce.  It is great on fresh black eye peas ~ as a matter of fact it is great on all of the summer peas and even scrambled eggs.  It is my grandmother’s recipe and my parents always made it.  I really don’t know why it is called chili sauce because it is more like a relish and is not spicy.  It is a wonderful way to utilize a crop of tomatoes.  I will post pictures of the process.

By the way ~ the giant zucchini that I showed you in a previous post made 4 servings on the grill and two loaves of zucchini bread.

Charlsey

