Tags

, , , ,

My hand pieced hexagon quilt using Inklingo is entered in Quilting Gallery quilt contest.  This week you can vote for two quilts.

This quilt was inspired by an 1850’s quilt.  It has 2,863 hexagons and took me about a year to piece.  Of course, I wouldn’t have  attempted it without Inklingo. This project was a true journey.  It  accompanied me on sailing trips to Belize, San Juan Islands, Tortola, and Granada.  It was with me as I traveled  through 4 European countries.  My handwritten pages of notes not only include my row by row piecing layout  but what I was doing and where I was at the time.  It was my distraction as I sat in hospital waiting rooms caring for an ailing family member.   It’s greatest debut in its unfinished state was on a trip to Toronto to see a good friend, Cathi ~ Quilt Obsession and Linda Franz joined us for a short visit.  Truly if quilts could talk, they would probably have some interesting tales to tell.

I have been absent from blogging for a couple weeks while I hunkered down to finish smocking the two Easter dresses for my granddaughters.  Self-imposed deadlines make me crazy and of course I didn’t make the date I had set for myself.  However,  I have finished them and will post the pictures soon.  We have had extremely windy and wet weather and I was unable to get a very good picture of them but this weekend is supposed to be sunny and nice.  I hope it is in your area too.

Happy Spring

Charlsey

