Tags

, ,

Yesterday, my granddaughter came to visit for the day.  She wants to learn to quilt for a 4H project next year.  I thought the best way to for her to start was to get familiar with the sewing machine.  She couldn’t reach the foot control on my Bernina so I set her up on a tv tray with my 1937 featherweight.  I had some old signature swap blocks that went back to 1999, 2000 and 2001 that I had never assembled.  I trimmed them for her and set her up to sew.

She caught on very fast and was very attentive and deliberate.  She practiced for about an hour and this is what she did.  Pinning the blocks was her biggest challenge but her Momma can help her along with that step.

I am going to set her up with her own sewing basket of supplies.  She was concerned that her Momma didn’t have pins!  I sent her home with enough blocks to put together to make a lap quilt.

So my quilting circle is expanding.  First my younger daughter and now my granddaughter.

For the last 12-14 years, my husband and a friend of his from high school that he became reacquainted with cooks dinner for the spouses on Valentines Day.  This year they served Butternut squash soup with roasted fennel and pecans; Farro Salad with Smoked Trout; Pork Tenderloin with peach glaze sauce; roasted asparagus; and Fresh Berries with Marscopone Meringue.  It was a fabulous dinner.  They served each course with a wine pairing.  I must mention here that all of the dishes were prepared with fresh ingredients and took hours of prep time for the guys.  The men really outdid themselves.  We appreciate you and love you bunches.

This is what the table setting looked like ~ complete with fresh flowers.

Flowers

 

