Work on the appliqué quilt still continues.  I thought today, I would show you a few blocks that are in various stages of completion and with different appliqué techniques.

The following block is prepped for freezer paper appliqué.  I needle turn the fabric under with the freezer paper on top.  This is my preferred method at the time since I travel with these blocks.  It helps to keep the freezer paper attached until I am ready to stitch.  In the past, I would needle turn with the shape traced on top of the fabric but since I wouldn’t get to the block for a while,  often the tracing lines would disappear from the folding of the blocks. You can see one of the pieces partially stitched in this photo.

 

The next photo shows the freezer paper attached to all of the shapes.  This block is in the prepped only stage.

 

The following block has two appliqué techniques.  The center ring will be reversed appliquéd.

I first baste the ring fabric (green) to the wrong side of the background fabric.  The right side of the green will be against the wrong side of the background .  It is difficult to draw circles freehand, even if I am tracing it off the pattern sheet, so I draw my circles on your background fabric with a compass on the right side of the background fabric.

I draw both inner and outer lines of the ring then baste again close to the inner and outer edges of the circles for ease of sewing.

Start by cutting a small slit in the background fabric (between the two circle lines) to get started and then, leaving a scant 1/4″ seam allowance, start to turn under and stitch the seam underneath as shown. Only cut your basting threads a few inches ahead of where you are stitching. My thread matches the background fabric, not the circle fabric.

 

Christmas Trivia

Ban of Christmas in England was repealed in 1660.  Many celebrated secretly anyway.

More than 1.76 billion candy canes are made during the Christmas season.

A Christmas club, savings account in which a person deposits a fixed amount of money regularly to be used at Christmas for shopping came about around 1905.

Wassail comes from the Old Norse “yes he ill” – to be of good health.  This evolved into the tradition of visiting neighbors on Christmas Eve and drinking to their health.

After “A Christmas Carol”, Dickens wrote several other Christmas stories, one each year but none was as successful as the original.

“The Nutcracker” is the name for the ballet performed around Christmas time each year.  “The Nutcracker Suite” is the title of the music Tchaikovsky wrote.

Charlsey

 

 

