Tags

, , , , ,

I have been working on an appliqué project in 2011.  I think there are (60) 11″ blocks plus a center block that is 22″.  The quilt was originally made in 1847 as a gift to a pastor’s wife.  The ladies in the congregation  contributed blocks and presented her with the quilt when she moved from the area.

I have kept up with prepping my blocks but have fallen a little behind in stitching them.  I think out of the 40 that I should have completed, I have finished  34 and the center block is partially stitched.  I stitch the center block in between working on the smaller blocks.

 

Some blocks are very simple and have very few pieces, while others are full of berries and leaves.  I have to admit that leaves get tiresome to me at times.  The blocks are interesting because the original makers had their own unique way in stitching them and they were of their own creation.  For example, some blocks the leaves rest against a stem; others underneath the stem; and still others don’t touch the stem at all.  Some blocks contain a combination of all the above.  I often think about the individuals that may have contributed a block.  Were they excellent piecers but due to time constraints, decided to do a simple block in order to meet a deadline? (I can relate to that thought!)   Were the complicated blocks something one of them started for a quilt of their own and donated it to the cause?  The center block is equivalent in size to 4 of the other blocks.  Did one person do the center? (lots of leaves and berries).

 

I have tried to work on my appliqué skills and have been using various techniques ~ back basting, freezer paper, needle turn, etc.  I can see an improvement as the quilt progresses.  I will be looking for a long arm quilter to quilt it for me.  My regular person no longer quilts large appliqué quilts and I think this one will exceed her maximum requirements.  It is an interesting project and I have enjoyed the journey thus far.

Christmas Trivia

Charles Dicken’s 1843 tale, “A Christmas Carol” emphasized charity to convince Victorians of the importance of the holiday.

In 1923, Calvin Coolidge was the first president to light a Christmas tree on the White House lawn.

Play Doh originally entered the market as wallpaper cleaner in 1957.

Poet, Clement Moore, was first to talk about Santa and Reindeer.

USPS issued their first Christmas stamp in 1962.

Charlsey

