Tags

, ,

I mentioned a few posts ago that I had quite a few unfinished projects.  To be exact, 4 completed quilts that needed binding.  I am glad to say that I have completed 3.  My fingers are sad to say, “I hurt”.  No matter how hard I try, I cannot use a thimble.  I have experimented with so many.  The best I found was a gift from Cathi (grey blob).  Here is my problem.  If I put a thimble on my index finger, I don’t use that finger ~ my middle finger works the needle.  If I put the thimble on the middle finger, it goes inactive and the index finger does all the work.  My poor finger has huge slits and holes in it.  Hopefully it will heal while I am vacationing next week.  I am taking an appliqué project with me though so we will see!

Here is a picture of the Burgoyne Surround, blue and white quilt that I finished the binding on last night.   It is machine quilted by my long arm quilter.  I have converted the pattern to Inklingo (rough draft) to make stitching and construction easier.  I have no idea where I am going to put it but I am sure it will find a home some where.

My neighbor likes the back of the quilt too.  I guess it could be reversible.  Here is a shot of the back.

Christmas Trivia:

The song Jingle Bells was first used in 1875 to celebrate Thanksgiving.

The song Jingle Bells was originally called “One Horse Open Sleigh”.

Alabama was the first state to declare Christmas a legal holiday in 1836

Oklahoma was the last state to declare Christmas a legal holiday in 1907.  (Some say it was 1890 but Oklahoma didn’t become a state until 1907.)

The Barbie doll’s measurements on a human scale would be 39-18-33.  (Ugh!)

It takes roughly 15 years for a sapling to grow to a Christmas tree that you would bring to your home and decorate.

According to Irish legend, the gates of Heaven open at midnight on Christmas Eve.

Charlsey


