We are almost to the end of the Feathered Stars.  One of my favorite blocks is the Pine Burr.  There are 49 pieces in the center 6″ block.  I did the dreadful paper piecing with this one.  Spent a lot of time picking paper out of the back which is precious time that could be used sewing instead.

I started planning the sashing and cornerstones on paper yesterday.  Originally I was going to do a Variable Star for the cornerstone but I am running short on fabric so have changed to the Ohio Star.  They will be 3.3/4″ and Inklingoable.

Here is a picture of the quilt that received the highest honors at the Dallas Quilt Show 2011.  It was an amazing quilt and very unique.  My camera battery went down so I had to take the pictures with my Iphone and the shots do not give this quilt justice.

The close up of the quilt shows the precision of the applique work; Perfect circles, ruched flower centers, and bias.  The multi-color thread around the bias strip applique is the the most perfect embroidery stitch I have ever seen and the docent told us it was totally hand done.  This quilter deserved the Best of Show Ribbon.

Charlsey

