Tags

, , , ,

I just returned from a 4 day trip to Toronto with my husband.  It was a whirlwind and very cold but I had a lot of time to stitch.  I met the infamous Cathi over at Quilt Obsession and we stitched for two days in the lobby of the hotel in front of their fireplace.  They graciously kept the fire stoked for us and the coffee and chocolate machine running.

It was a great time of sharing, planning, and stitching.

Here is a shot of my Seven Sister’s quilt meeting Cathi’s X’s and O’s quilt.  Yes, we spread them out on the sofa in the lobby!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first day, Cathi put together her “snake”  of tri’s to go around one of her Farmer’s Delight blocks.  I was working on piecing the feathers for my next feathered star block.  The second day, Cathi put the tri’s around 6 of her Pickled Ladies blocks, and I assembled about   3/4 of a feathered star.

Here is a picture of our second day of stitching.  I didn’t have my camera with me to take the first day shots.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cathi had a little surprise for me when I got there.  YLI thread, a pincushion she made, a pair of nifty nippers in case the airline confiscated my scissors and a Quilt Block Book.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I was going to hand piece the second block of the feathered star quilt.  It went together very nicely.  You just can’t go wrong with Inklingo.  Every piece fits together like a charm.  As far as the comparison between machine and hand piecing, naturally machine is faster.  However, that said, I must admit that because a machine’s feed dogs can cause your bottom layer of fabric to feed differently than the top layer of fabric, I took my time and went more slowly than I normally would when I machine piece using a 1/4″ foot and without Inklingo.  I used an open foot to machine piece so I could see the Inklingo lines easier.   I enjoyed both and can say the Inklingo way making a feathered star is much more accurate and takes less time.  I pieced a feathered star quilt several years ago and it was a very time consuming process, so I speak from experience on this one.  If you are generally a machine piecer and think that Inklingo is mainly for hand piecing, I would recommend you try the feathered star the Inklingo way.  You will be pleased you did.

Here are the first two feathered star blocks.  I am sorry you cannot see the star very well in the first block.  The star points are slivers and the star itself is pretty complex.  The center of the second block is interesting as well and has 18 pieces to it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is nothing like a little travel to give you time to stitch.  Which brings up another point.  If I decide to machine piece the feathered star, I better get to work and plan another hand piecing project.  Wouldn’t you say?

 

Charlsey

 

