Tags

, , ,

Someone once said (Linda Franz of Inklingo) that sewing needles were not Heirlooms.  I really try to remember to change my needles often, but really don’t think about it until I am jabbing them like toothpicks through the fabric.  I think I have stitched about 1/2 of the 7 Sisters quilt with these two needles.  The straight needle in the center is the new one I started using last night.  Hopefully you can see the wonky crooked needles on either side.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I changed my needle, the stitching was much faster and smoother.  Go figure!

Well, speaking of Heirloom needles, these actually are heirlooms.  My grandmother passed away at the age of 96 in 1992 and the needles I am using were in her sewing basket.

Wow! 15 cents for a package of needles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see, I only have 3 left.  I will save one and the package and put it in my Printer’s Box where some of my small size treasures live.  Some day I will take a picture of it for you.

Progress on the quilt has been slow this week because of non-quilt-related projects.  I am almost half way through assembling.  It is really pretty in real life and I wish I had better photography skills to show you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a close up of one of the blocks

 

 

 

 

 

Hope your day involves a little bit of stitching.

Charlsey

