We had our family gathering in my home this Saturday.  We had a total of 27 although my sister and her extended group could not make it.  We had beautiful weather which enabled the children to be able to play outside while the kitchen chaos was going on.  This Thanksgiving was so different than 2009.  My dad was hospitalized for 64 days last year and today he is a walking miracle.  We are blessed and thankful that he is with us.

I cook the same thing year after year but for some reason, everyone thought this year’s fare was the best.  I contribute it to my new double ovens.  I wasn’t really concerned with the performance of the ovens when I picked them out for the new house.  I just liked the pretty blue color of the inside of the oven.  Lucky for me they cook well.

I have made the same Pecan Pie recipe for 32 years and always been pleased with it.  However, this year I did try a new Pecan Pie Recipe from The Pioneer Woman .   I believe it is the best pecan recipe ….ever.  I have been making my old recipe for 32 years but I must admit that it will be retired now.

Another new recipe this year was the mashed potatoes.  I am  always in the kitchen mashing just prior to the meal and miss out on the family pre-meal fellowship.  This year I did the make ahead Creamy Mashed Potatoes and they were wonderful.  They got rave reviews.  This recipe was the one Pioneer Woman used in the Thanksgiving Dinner  Throwdown with Bobby Flay which she won.

My older daughter (whose birthday on Sunday made me feel r-e-a-l-l-y old ) stayed over after our family Thanksgiving gathering to help me decorate the house for Christmas.  We worked hard so hard our “doggies were barking” (translation – feet hurt).  Two trees, two mantels, one balcony, two gates, one front door, and all of the other “stuff” around the house.  The little elves (grandchildren) hung in there to the end.  They were terrific helpers.  Our landscapers will put up the outside lights this week.

Whew!  I think I can quilt when I get back from having Thanksgiving with my younger daughter this weekend.

We have so much to be thankful for.  We are especially thankful for our troops who will not be spending the holiday with their families but sacrifice so much for our freedom and protection.  We remember you daily.

Wishing everyone a wonderful Thanksgiving on Thursday. May it be filled with many blessings.

Charlsey

