A friend of mine, Cathi, told me about the Blogger’s Quilt Festival and suggested I submit one of my quilts.  It looked like fun so thought I would give it a try.  Amy at Amy’s Creative Side here is hosting the Quilt Festival.  You will have an opportunity to view many beautiful quilts by very creative people.

The quilt I am featuring is called Grandmother’s Starry Garden.    It is a Grandmother’s Flower Garden in the setting of an 8-pointed star.  This quilt was inspired by an 1850 quilt that I saw in a quilt history book.  The picture was 2-1/2″ x 4″.  I spent over 80 hours studying the quilt and enlarging the picture to determine how the quilt was pieced.  In the original quilt the star was appliqued to the background fabric.  I chose to use hexagons for the background rather than applique.  I had located the owner of the original quilt and had hopes of contacting her once my quilt was finished.  By the time I finished, the information was obsolete.  It would have been fun to photograph the two quilts side by side.

This is a picture  before the borders were added.

This is a picture after the swag border was added.  I debated a long time about putting on the swags.  Since I didn’t have pattern for any of this, I had to wing it on the measurements.  The dinner plate came in handy for creating the template of the swag.  A girl has to do what a girl has to do!

There are 2, 853 hexagons in the quilt.  The swag was appliqued.  It took me a little over one year to hand piece it.  It has many frequent flyer miles as I wagged everywhere I travelled for a year.

I used the Inklingo method to piece the hexagons.  See my side bar or click here to follow the link to Linda Franz’ website to learn more about Inklingo.  There are some free collections for you to download so you can try Inklingo too.  It is a great quilting tool that eliminates templates, saves fabric, and helps create perfect piecing because the stitching lines are printed on the fabric.  If you visit, please let Linda know I sent you or if you have questions about Inklingo, just ask me.

Here is a close up of the quilting.  My long arm quilter, Sheri, is an awesome long arm quilter.

Grandmother’s Starry Garden received the honor of the Past President’s Ribbon at my local quilt show.

Thanks for coming, especially those of you who are new to my blog.  Have a look around, I hope you’ll be back! I plan to add all of my quilts to the blog in the near future, so you will have more to peruse. 

Head on over to Amy’s blog and check out all of the other quilters participating in the Festival.  You might want to grab a cup of coffee and sit a spell!

Charlsey

