Tags

, ,

This week’s online quilt contest at Quilting gallery is featuring paper pieced quilts.  My entry is a  Mariner’s Compass quilt that was my first attempt at paper piecing.  The quilt was hand quilted.  It was an interesting project because I used techniques that I had never experienced before. (i.e., paper piecing and machine zig zag stitching with monofilament thread the circles to the background).  I don’t think that I would use this method again although it is a beautiful project and the end result was pleasing.  We now have Inklingo which would make the process quicker, more accurate, and with less fabric waste.   Yeah for Inklingo!  Not to mention, there is no picking paper out of your seams!  Anyway, check out the quilts.  There are some stunning projects this week.

quiltinggallery.com/2010/10/22/vote-now-paper-pieced-quilts/

