Tags

, ,

One down and one to go.  I finished Kelsey’s Easter dress with the exception of the hem and buttonholes which I will do when Ella’s matching Easter dress is assembled.  Hopefully, I can do that tomorrow.  The dress will not look so frumpy when I get it hemmed.  The detail work was tedious, and I almost gave up on weaving the ribbon but perseverance paid off.  (Thanks to Stacye)  Amazingly the tiny seed pearls did not take that long.  I was afraid of messing up the lace collar because lace is so expensive these days but all turned out fine.

Here is a close up of the smocking, ribbon weaving and seed pearls.

I really have a great smocking teacher – Stacye at the Berry Patch.  She is very patient with all of my questions.  When I goof, she always tells me it will be okay and finds a way to fix it.  Fortunately, when I move, I will be closer to the store.  Maybe, unfortunate for Stayce and my husband.  This dress was in the Sew Beautiful magazine and was designed by Cheryl Davidson, owner of “A Frayed Knot” heirloom sewing shop.  I love the name of the shop.

I will post a picture of the granddaughters in the dresses when I get one.  I can’t wait to see their chocolate brown eyes (Kelsey’s description of her eyes!) when they put the dresses on.

Charlsey

