Tags

, , , , ,

What a long journey this has been.  GFG started as a 2-1/2 x 4″ picture in a book on historical quilts and evolved into a quilt stretched across the foyer floor for its “red carpet” photograph.  This quilt has a lot of frequent flyer miles on it.  In checking my journal, pieces of the quilt have been to London, Greece, Turkey, Albania, Italy, Croatia, Canada, Florida, British Virgin Islands, Bahamas, Louisiana, Texas, Colorado, New York, North Carolina, and Oklahoma.

I am very grateful to Linda Franz for creating Inklingo or I never would have attempted to hand piece this quilt.  My journal said that I poured over the quilt for approximately 80 hours before starting; enlarging the picture many times to see how the original was pieced.  I used hexagons to piece the background but on the original quilt the star was appliqued to the background fabric.

Here is a close up of some of the quilting done by Sheri Mecom, who is my longarm quilter.

View of the quilting from the back

Now, for my next big project, hmmmmm

Charlsey

