Tags

, , ,

As I mentioned in my previous post, we stayed at a working dairy farm in Lancaster county during our recent family reunion.  Landyshade Farm (click here and see a gallery of pictures of the home and the surrounding property) is also a mulch farm.  It didn’t occur to me until I was on the airplane headed to Pennsylvania that the house I had acquired on VRBO could be smelly and full of flies.  The apprehension set in big time but as it turned out the house was perfect.  The original part of the house was built in the mid to late 1700′s and is one of the oldest homes still in existence in Lancaster County.  Of course, the original house has been added on to several times over.  The room Mr. NC and I slept in had the original wood and mortar on the inside walls.  The house was surrounded by corn fields and the stalks were taller than me.  Here are some shots of the dairy.  They milk 3 times a day.  Sue starts the first milking at 4 am.  It is a very interesting process how they use every asset on the farm.  A cow doesn’t become a cow until after it has given birth to two calves.  They are heifers until then. (News to me!)

I was blown away by the amount of milk that is pulled off from each cow at their milking.  In 4-5 minutes they can produce 80+ gallons. Yikes!

My grandchildren love animals

This baby was born the morning we had the tour.  They are taken away from their mothers immediately but bottle fed the first milk mom produces.

A day in the Amish country.  One day the townspeople were having a fundraiser for disabled children.  The tents were set up for BBQ, sweet corn, lemonade, and crafts and wares you could buy.  There were hundreds of buggies.

The people were coming by foot

By scooter ~ I really don’t know what they call these.  The tires are the size of bicycles but there are no pedals or chains. They use their feet to propel them like a scooter.  They can get them going pretty fast too.

and By wagon

This picture was taken at the Bird N Hand bakery.  This young lady lives down the road from the family farmhouse I mentioned yesterday.  She was coming to the bakery to pick up some goods for her mother.

These boys are waiting outside the grocery for their brother.  They were sent on an errand for their mother to purchase powdered sugar.  At the register the older boy asked if the bag he placed on the counter was 10K sugar.  He was smart to verify and get it right!

Across from the bakery and family farmhouse, a family was working the field, cutting hay.  I have so much admiration for how hard the Amish work.  Here a mom, is driving the horse team.  The husband was behind tossing the hay on the back wagon, and the kids were helping to stack it.

And I would really like a clothes line!  Maybe I will ask for one for my birthday.

On another day, we went to Gettysburg and toured with a private guide.  I really enjoy Civil War history so this was a very special treat.

It was a wonderful trip~sharing time with family, extended family, and relatives that we don’t see quite enough.

This is a picture of my two granddaughters and the friend they made on the trip.  Julia and Kelsey were inseparable whenever we were “at home at Landyshade Farm”.  I am sure they will become pen pals.  Julia got up early to say goodbye.

Speaking of goodbyes……..they are sometimes very difficult.  This is Ella saying goodbye to my youngest daughter.

