Tags

, , , , , , , ,

How often do you have a friend whose work is published in a Quilters magazine?  How often do you have two friends published in the same Issue of a magazine?  The June issue of American Patchwork & Quilting was a treat for me because two of my friends have quilts in this magazine.

I am privileged to have had as my first quilting teacher, designer Paula Barnes of Red Crinoline quilts (formerly Bonnie Blue Quilts). If it had not been for her patience, I would not be quilting today.

No matter how wonky my first quilt blocks were, Paula would say, “it will be okay“.

I would hand her my mess and she would return it to me “fixed”.  My very first beginning quilting class was held at a Bernina store.  I brought my Sears Kenmore tabletop machine that didn’t have a 1/4″ foot to class.  Paula put the 1/4″ tape on my machine as a guide for my seam allowances.  No luck ~ but “it will be okay”.  Rip, rip,  rip ~ but “it will be okay”.  Well it would be okay but I was tired of ripping!  Before I left class, I had purchased my first Bernina sewing machine WITH a 1/4″ foot!  Paula even let me take more of her classes.  Some teachers would have put me on their “banned list”.

Anyway, Paula has gone on to do bigger and better things and it is always great to see her published and the wonderful patterns and fabrics she designs.

This quilt is called Ship Shape.    I love the border fabric on this quilt which is from her Cotton Club line.

The pattern is very adaptable for Inklingo users too.  See the main triangle page at Inklingo.  Paula also has kits are available on her website.

My next friend with a design in the magazine is Betsy Chutchian. I saw her stunning pink and brown quilt, “Bounty of Baskets” in my LQS, Lone Star House of Fabrics.  (Kits are also available).  And best of all, this pattern is also adaptable for Inklingo users.

Betsy has published several quilt books including “Gone To Texas” and leads the Jo’s Club at LSHQ.  She is very talented and is always eager to share her knowledge and history of quilts.  Betsy also designs fabric and the quilt above features her Hot for Chocolate II line.

The only thing better than having two friends published in the same issue of a magazine is taking classes from both of them on the same cruise which I did last year.  I am definitely a lucky quilter.  Congratulations, once again friends.

Hope your day includes taking a stitch or two.

Charlsey

